top of page
Metis Rail Webinars

Enabling Secure and Reliable Digital Maintenance Operations in Rail

Webinar | 22 JUNE 2023 | 15:00 CEST

In Partnership With: 

RazorSecure  Metis Webinar

SCENARIO

Global losses from rail cyber security incidents are estimated to cost billions of dollars every year. Increasingly complex software compatibility issues and deficiencies in current digital maintenance practices have led to urgent rail safety alerts being issued in the UK.

More than half of all cybersecurity incidents are caused by internal threats – whether from inadvertent poor practices (such as password sharing and human error) or malicious internal activity by employees.

Cyber vulnerabilities can be caused by poor password management, lack of network access control and authentication, and poor management of service laptops, which often run out-of-date security software.

Moderator:

Egoitz Lizaso Legardo -

Head of Vehicle Cyber Security

CAF

Metis Rail Webinars

AGENDA

Metis Rail Webinars

Keynote - How is the increasing digitisation of trains affecting maintenance practices?

Presenter: Sophie Verbeek, Senior Manager of Operations, Nederlandse Spoorwegen


15.00 - 15.15

Metis Rail Webinars

What are the challenges in digital maintenance throughout the lifecycle of a train?

Presenter: Bruno Corasolla, Head of Digital Trains,
Hitachi

Bruno is the Global Head of Digital Trains, part of the Global Innovation team at Hitachi Rail. He is responsible for fostering the development of digital solutions and technologies that will be in Hitachi’s future train generations.

15.15 - 15.35

Metis Rail Webinars

How can we efficiently manage digital maintenance and fleet availability?

Presenter: Janan Shanmugaratnam, Specialist Engineer, South Western Railway

Janan is a Specialist engineer at South Western Railway, currently leading SWR's on-train systems team and the company's approach to cyber-security compliance for on-train systems. Janan brings over 15 years of design, project management, and systems engineering experience, having previously worked in the automotive and aerospace sectors before moving to the railway

15.35 - 16:00

Panel - How could future legislation changes impact the implementation of digital maintenance?

This panel will cover the legislative approach to digital maintenance, including known updates to standards that may impact the way digital maintenance is performed. The second publication of Security of Network & Information Systems Regulations (NIS2), the EU cyber resilience act (CRA), the IEC 63452 railway cybersecurity standard and similar regulations, acts and standards are subjects for debate in this panel, including their practical implementation and what this may mean for those developing and publishing digital maintenance plans.

Panelists:

Metis Rail Webinars

Serge Benoliel   Convenor  of IEC 63452 

Metis Rail Webinars

Marta Garcia - UNIFE

Metis Rail Webinars

Darren Fitzgerald -  RSSB

16:05 - 16:25

Metis Rail Webinars



A look at how we can improve the security and reliability of rail digital maintenance operations

Presenter: Alex Cowan, CEO & Founder, RazorSecure

16.25 - 16:45

Panel Discussion on Future Trends

Panelists:

Metis Rail Webinars

Janan Shanmugaratnam, Specialist Engineer, South Western Railway

Metis Rail Webinars

Bruno Corasolla, Head of Digital Trains, Hitachi

Metis Rail Webinars

Alex Cowan,
CEO & Founder, RazorSecure

16:45 - 17:05

Metis Rail Webinars

REGISTRATION

Date: 22 June 2023

Start: 15:00 CET (14:00 BST, 9:00 EST)

End: 17:00 CET (16:00 BST, 11:00 EST)

Format: Virtual / Online

Hosted by: Metis Conferences

bottom of page